State Assistance Programs for Aging in Place Home Modifications

Page Reviewed / Updated - Apr. 2015


Approximately one-third of states have financial assistance programs, sometimes called nursing home diversion programs, whose objective is to prevent the unnecessary institutionalization of the elderly (in nursing homes paid for by Medicaid). To that end these programs will help pay for home modifications that enable elderly and disabled persons to remain living in their homes. In addition, to helping seniors pay for environmental adaptations (home modifications), some of these programs help pay for assistive technologies.

Typically the types of modifications covered by these programs include wheelchair ramps, bathroom re-models, stair-lifts, doorway widening and kitchen modifications. These programs may include grants or loans or sometimes a combination of grants and loans is provided.



Each state's program has different eligibility requirements, clicking on the program name below will take visitors to a detailed program page which discusses eligibility and benefits.  Generally speaking, there are the following types of requirements.  

  • Persons must be elderly or disabled.  
  • They must be living at home, renting a home or living in the home of a caregiver. They cannot be eligible if they reside in assisted living or a nursing home.  
  • Have annual or monthly income within the program's limits.  Some programs also consider the applicant's total financial resources (their "countable assets").


List of Programs

It is unfortunate that not every state offers an assistance programs and many of those which do offer assistance do so only for care services and not for home safety modifications.  However, at last review as of April 2015, there were 34 programs in 22 different states.

The following state based programs provide some level of financial assistance or services to help the elderly make home modifications to allow them to remain living in their homes.  Click on any of the program names to learn more.

State Assistance Programs for Home Modifications

Alaska Senior Access Program

Alaska Alzheimer’s Disease & Related Dementias Mini-Grants

Arizona Non-Medical HCBS

Connecticut Home Care for Elders

Connecticut Choices at Home Project

Florida Community Care for the Elderly (CCE)

Florida Home Care for the Elderly (HC)

Georgia Non Medicaid HCBS

Illinois Community Care

Illinois Housing Home Modification Program


Iowa Able Foundation Loan Program

Iowa Senior Living - Case Management Program

Kentucky Hart-Supported Living Program

Maine Home Repair and Elderly Grant

Maine Caregiver Respite

Maryland Accessible Homes for Seniors

Massachusetts Home Care and Enhanced Community Options Programs

Minnesota Alternative Care

Nebraska Assistive Technology/Home Modifications Service

Nebraska Disabled Persons and Family Support

Nevada COPE

Nevada Assistive Technology for Independent Living

New Jersey Assistance for Community Caregiving (JACC)

New York Expanded In-home Services for the Elderly (EISEP)

New York State RESTORE Program

North Dakota SPED

Pennsylvania Assistive Technology Foundation (PATF)

Pennsylvania Access Home Modification Program

Pennsylvania Options Program

Rhode Island Home and Community Care Co-Pay Program

Texas DADS Services to Assist Independent Living

Texas In-Home and Family Support

Utah's The Alternatives Program

Vermont Home Access Program & Sue Williams Freedom Fund

Washington DC Senior Citizens' Home Repair and Improvement

Wisconsin AFCSP

Wisconsin Community Options Program (COP)

Wisconsin SSI Exceptional Expense Supplement

Wisconsin Family Care and Family Care Partnership