Page Reviewed / Updated – January 19, 2021


Approximately one-half of states have financial assistance programs, sometimes called nursing home diversion programs, whose objective is to prevent the unnecessary institutionalization of the elderly (in nursing homes paid for by Medicaid). To that end, these programs will help pay for home modifications that enable elderly and disabled persons to remain living in their homes. In addition to helping seniors pay for environmental accessibility adaptations (formal language for home modifications), some of these programs help pay for assistive technologies (formal language for durable medical equipment).

Typically, the types of modifications covered by these programs include the addition of the following:

  • Wheelchair ramps
  • Bathroom re-models
  • Installing stair-lifts
  • Doorway widening
  • Kitchen modifications

These programs may include grants or loans, or sometimes a combination of grants and loans is provided.


Each state’s program has different eligibility requirements. Clicking on the program name below will take visitors to a detailed program page, which discusses eligibility and benefits. Generally speaking, there are the following types of eligibility requirements.

  • Persons must be elderly or disabled.
  • Persons must be living at home, renting a home, or living in the home of a caregiver. Stated otherwise, they cannot be eligible if they reside in assisted living or a nursing home.
  • Persons must have annual or monthly income within the program’s limits. Some programs also consider the applicant’s total financial resources (their “countable assets”).

Eldercare Financial Assistance Locator

  • Discover all of your options
  • Search over 400 Programs

List of Programs

It is unfortunate that not every state offers assistance programs. Many of those that do offer assistance do so only for care services and not for home safety modifications. However, at last review as of September 2019, there were 44 programs in 27 different states and the District of Columbia. The following state based programs provide some level of financial assistance or services to help the elderly make home modifications to allow them to remain living in their homes. Some programs listed here provide financial assistance, but not for a specific purpose. Click on any of the program names to learn more.

Non-Medicaid State Assistance Programs for Home Modifications for Aging – Updated May 2018
Alaska Senior Access Program
Alzheimers Disease Related Dementias Mini-Grants
Senior Benefits
Senior In-Home Services
Arizona Non-Medical HCBS
Connecticut Home Care for Elders
Florida Home Care for the Elderly (HC)
Local Services Programs
Georgia Non Medicaid HCBS
Hawaii Kupuna Care
Illinois Home Accessibility Program
Iowa Iowa Able Foundation Loan Program
Senior Living / Case Management Program
Kentucky Hart-Supported Living Program
Maine Maine Home Repair and Elderly Grant
Consumer-Directed Home Based Care
Maine Caregiver Respite
Maryland Accessible Homes for Seniors
Senior Care Services Program
Minnesota Alternative Care
Consumer Support Grant
Nebraska Assistive Technology/Home Modifications
Disabled Persons and Family Support
Nevada Assistive Technology for Independent Living
New Jersey New Jersey Assistance for Community Caregiving
New York RESTORE Program
North Dakota SPED
Ohio Elderly Services Program
Ohio Older American Act Services
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Assistive Technology Foundation
Access Home Modification Program
Options Program
Rhode Island Home and Community Care Co-Pay Program
Texas DADS Services to Assist Independent Living
Utah The Alternatives Program
Vermont Home Access Program & Sue Williams Freedom Fund
Washington Tailored Support for Older Adults Program
Washington DC DC Single Family Residential Repair Program
Safe at Home Program
Wisconsin AFCSP
SSI Exceptional Expense Supplement
Wyoming Home Services Program (WyHS)