Page Reviewed / Updated – June 11, 2023

Program Description

The Kansas Senior Care Act (SCA) is a non-Medicaid program that offers elderly state residents the opportunity to receive care services and support in their homes or primary places of residence.

Funded at the state level by the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) and provided under the Senior Care Act, SCA is administered by the state’s local Area Agencies on Aging. The specific services available are determined in each county, but generally include personal care and other forms of non-medical, in-home support.

Under this program, certain family members can be paid to provide caregiving services.

Services provided under this program that do not require medical training are available to be self-directed. This means the program participant can select who provides their care, as well as manage the selected caregiver.

An interesting aspect of self-direction is that because the participant is free to select their service provider, family members can be hired in these roles. In most cases, spouses cannot be hired and are not eligible to be paid. However, there are some exceptions. For example, a participant who lives in an area so rural there isn’t another caregiver available to provide services.

Eligibility Guidelines

The SCA program has eligibility criteria with regards to the applicant’s age, residency, functional ability and financial status.

General Requirements

Applicants must be at least 60 years of age. Unlike many programs, an exception is not made for persons under the age of 60 who have a disability.

Applicants must be legal residents of Kansas.

Functional Ability
Applicants must be professionally assessed and found to require assistance with two or more activities of daily living (ADLs) and with three or more instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs).

Financial Requirements

Technically, there are no income or asset limits. However, there is a sliding scale for the cost of services based on one’s household size and income and assets. The guidelines for the sliding scale are updated each year in July to reflect the current poverty scale.

Benefits and Services

Services provided under the Senior Care Act are selected to help individuals continue to live independently, outside of a nursing home environment. While each individual is approved for a different variety of services depending on their needs, they can include:

  • Case management
  • Attendant care
  • Respite care
  • Homemaker and chore services
  • Adult day care
  • Transportation assistance (in most cases, non-medical transportation is not provided)

The cost of services ranges from free to full cost on a sliding scale based on income, assets, and family size. Most services are free for individuals whose income is less than 100% of the Federal Poverty Level and who have less than $10,000 in countable assets. Households of two are entitled to as much as $13,500 in assets.

Eldercare Financial Assistance Locator

  • Discover all of your options
  • Search over 400 Programs

How to Apply / Learn More

The SCA program is managed separately by each of the 11 Kansas Area Agencies on Aging. To learn more about the program or to apply for assistance, one should contact their local AAA office.

Limited information is also available on the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services website. Persons can also call 855-200-2372 to learn more about this program.

Please note that services are available based on the availability of program funds.