SSI State Supplementary Payments / Optional State Supplements and Eldercare

Page Reviewed / Updated - Jan. 2014

SSI State Supplementary Payments Definition

These are monthly cash payments offered by the states to low income individuals or their care providers to supplement the federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) payment.


 State supplements to SSI benefits are often increased for those living in skilled nursing or assisted living residences.

Forty-six states currently provide additional cash benefits to supplement the federal SSI payment. The dollar value of these supplements often depends on the living situation on the recipient.  As an example, a person living independently may receive one amount; someone receiving home care a different amount, and a person in an assisted living residence a third amount.  For example, in Colorado, the supplement for an individual living independently is $25 / month, for those receiving home care, it is $475 / month and individuals in adult foster care can receive up to $551 / month.

 There can be considerable confusion surrounding state supplements to SSI payments due to the variety of names by which they can be referred.  Among these are State Supplementary Payments, SSP, Optional State Supplements, OSS and simply Supplemental Assistance.

Qualifying for SSI State Supplementary Payments

Eligibility is determined at the state level is based solely on the income and assets of the applicant.  Their age, health, marital or veteran status or their geographic location within their state does not directly impact their eligibility but may impact their benefit amount.

Most states use the same income and asset requirements as the federal program, however there are states that set their own qualifications.  Some of these state have more restrictive income limits than the federal standard and other states have less restrictive limits.  You can find your state’s SSI supplement eligibility criteria by clicking the state links which follow.  

 Arizona, North Dakota, West Virginia and Mississippi do not offer state SSI supplements at this time.



Benefits of SSI State Supplementary Payments

The amount of the state supplements often depends on the living situation and care requirements of the individual. Person receiving home care or residing in an assisted living residence usually are eligible for a higher amount than those living independently.   As an example, the state of Colorado will provide $551 / month to individuals in assisted living (or adult foster care), $475 to those receiving home care but just $25 to those who can live independently.

Unlike federal SSI checks which are paid directly to the individual, in some states supplemental payments are paid directly to the care provider.


Click on your state below to see your state’s SSI supplement amounts.



Application Process

In some states the application is managed by the Federal Government and in other by the state governments.   Contact the federal government social security office for SSI state supplements in the following states:

  • California    
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Michigan    
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey     
  • New York    
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Utah     
  • Vermont

Residents of all other states should contact their state government social security office.