Page Reviewed / Updated – Oct. 26, 2022

Program Description

The Hawaii Community Living Program (CLP) is a relatively new program for seniors who require long-term care and supports in their home. Often known as a nursing home diversion program, this program is intended to provide needed services in order to promote independent living and delay, or prevent, more costly nursing home placement. A variety of supports, such as assistance with Activities of Daily Living (ADLs) and Instrumental Activities of Daily Living (IADLs), like bathing, grooming, mobility, meal preparation, and light housework, Personal Emergency Response Systems (PERS), assistive technology, and durable medical equipment may be available thorough CLP.

CLP allows seniors in the state of Hawaii to direct their own personal care services and supports, giving program participants the opportunity to decide what best fits their needs and situation. (A program participant can also designate a relative or close friend as their representative). This type of program, sometimes referred to as self-direction, consumer-direction, or Cash and Counseling, offers flexibility, as eligible applicants are given the freedom to hire and manage the care and service providers of their choosing. Via CLP, a monthly budget is established, and a coach is provided to assist in developing a care plan. Financial management services are also available to handle the fiscal obligations, such as payroll and taxes, of being an employer.

This program, which may also be referred to as the Community Living Participant Direction Program, is administered by Hawaii’s Executive Office on Aging (EOA) within the Department of Health. Unfortunately, at the time of this writing, CLP is not available statewide. It is currently available in Kauai, Maui, and Hawaii, and there are plans to expand to Honolulu in the future.

Eligibility Guidelines

To be eligible for the Hawaii Community Living Program, one must be a resident of Hawaii, 60 years of age or older, and reside in their home or the home of a relative. One cannot be residing in an assisted living facility, nursing home, adult foster family home, or an adult residential care home. In addition, there are functional and financial requirements that must be met.

Functional need is met by meeting ONE of the following:

1. Require assistance with a minimum of three ADLs
2. Have resided in a nursing home facility or an adult residential care home at some point during the last six months
3. Have a medical diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease or a related dementia

An applicant must have a monthly income between 101% and 300% of the Federal Poverty Level. As of 2022, this means a single applicant cannot have less than $1,302.50 / month ($15,630 / year) and no more than $3,907.50 / month ($46,890 / year) in income. The asset limit is set at $100,000, although there are several exemptions, meaning some assets are not counted toward the limit. Non-countable assets include the applicant’s main home, one automobile, a funeral/burial plan, and a life insurance policy.

Program participants cannot be eligible for Medicaid, also known as Med-QUEST in Hawaii, and receive services via the Community Living Program.

Benefits and Services

A monthly budget is established, based on need, which is determined via an assessment during the application process. Funds can be used for long-term care services and supports as the participant sees fit. Examples of how one might use the funds include adult day care, companion care, assistive technology, durable medical equipment, personal emergency response systems, home modification for access and safety purposes, and hiring a personal care assistant or home health aide.

Eldercare Financial Assistance Locator

  • Discover all of your options
  • Search over 400 Programs

How to Apply / Learn More

For more information or to apply for the Hawaii Community Living Program, contact the Aging and Disability Resource Center at 808-643-2372. As mentioned previously, this program is currently provided in the following counties: Kauai, Maui, and Hawaii. Implementation in Honolulu is slated for the future.