North Dakota Service Payments and Expanded Service Payments for the Elderly and Disabled (SPED and Ex-SPED) Programs

Program Description
The North Dakota Department of Human Services offers a program called Service Payments for the Elderly and Disabled, abbreviated as SPED.  This program has two levels which provide similar services but have differing eligibility requirements.  These levels are referred to as regular SPED and Expanded SPED or Ex-SPED. 

Both programs provide a range of services intended to help individuals remain living at home or in their community.   Although assisted living services are not among the included benefits, adult foster care, which provides a similar level of care to assisted living just in a smaller environment, is included.  Both programs also allow for consumer direction of services.  For clarification purposes, this means that the individuals receiving care services and have the right and the flexibility to choose their own service providers (assuming they meet the ND Department of Human Services standards).  Certain family members, usually the adult children, can be hired as service providers and paid for their caregiving efforts.

Qualifications / Eligibility Requirements
To begin, applicants must be at least 18 years of age and legal residents of North Dakota.  Services are not provided to individuals in Medicaid funded nursing homes, therefore program participants must either live at home or in adult foster care. 

Functionally, applicants must have challenges completing at least four of their activities of daily living without assistance or five instrumental activities of daily living.

Financially, the applicant's monthly income is not considered in fixed terms.  Rather, the applicant must be found to have an inability to paid for their care.  Assets, however, are considered in fixed terms.  In 2013, the applicant is limited to a maximum of $50,000 in assets.  This does not include the value of their home. 

The services available are the same whether the beneficiary is approved for SPED or Ex-SPED, however their financial obligations may differ.  Ex-SPED beneficiaries have the complete cost of services paid for, while SPED beneficiaries are charged a service fee.  However the fee for services is minor when comparing to purchasing these same services from private elder care service providers.  Services covered by these programs include:

-Adult Foster Care
-Assistance with Household Chores
-Family Home Care
-Personal Care
-Personal Emergency Response System (PERS)
-Respite Care

Availability / How to Apply
These programs are available statewide.  To learn more or begin the application process, there are several paths.  One can contact their local county social service office, visit the Aging and Disability Resource webpage or call the toll-free number at 1-855-462-5465.

Another option for North Dakota senior citizens are the services provided under the Older Americans Act. >

Use our Eldercare Financial Resource Locator Tool to find other public and private programs that can help pay for or reduce the costs of long term care for the elderly.
Page Reviewed / Updated - Jun. 2013